Skip to content

Voter Info Hub for St Peter Port election


St Peter Port parish held an election on Wednesday 16 November for one Constable and seven Douzeniers.

The day to day running of St Peter Port is the responsibility of two Constables and the parish staff team. Douzeniers represent local parishioners, keeping a careful eye on what’s happening in the parish, giving feedback and suggestions and volunteering to help with parish duties.

273 people voted (3.6% of the electorate). The result of the vote are below.




Links to the candidate’s leaflets have now been removed as per our Privacy Policy.


Constable (one vacancy)

Diane Mitchell 119 votes

Jennifer Tasker 137 votes –  elected

15 spoilt papers


Douzeniers (seven vacancies)

Mary McDermott 181 votes –  elected

Thomas Moore 90 votes – elected

Arron Hawke 59 votes

Christopher Hudson 126 votes – elected

Philip Smith 104 votes – elected

Christopher Nicolle 105 votes – elected

Michael Garrett 105 votes – elected

Denyse McGahy 146 votes – elected

9 spoilt papers



Polling stations


The Constables’ Office in Lefebvre Street (open from 10am to 8pm). Directions: Go through the stone arch opposite Boots. The Constables Office is opposite Koi Koi and Fat Rascal.

The foyer at Beau Sejour (open from 10am to 8pm).




It is not possible to postal vote in a parish election. If you live in St Peter Port and are on the electoral roll, you must go to one of the designated polling stations in your parish on Wednesday 16 November between 10am and 8pm.

Polling station officials will check that you are on the electoral roll and give you a ballot paper to fill out in a private booth. You’ll put the completed ballot paper in a secure ballot box to be counted when the polling station closes. The results will be announced later that evening at the Constables Office in Lefebvre Street.

If you are not currently on the electoral roll, it is too late to be included for this election. But fill in the form now to make sure you can vote next year. To check whether you are on the roll, email


Additional information


What do Douzeniers and Constables do?


Guernsey’s iconic women of the future?

Thank you for nominating a young woman or girl for our future iconic Guernsey women campaign to celebrate International Women’s Day!

Nominations close on Sunday 6 March at 17.00.

Please fill in the details below.


Miriam Makeba - South Africa

Nominated by: Christine James

Zenzile Miriam Makeba (1932 to 2008), nicknamed Mama Africa, was a South African singer, songwriter, actress, United Nations goodwill ambassador, and civil rights activist. Associated with musical genres including Afropop, jazz, and world music, she was an advocate against apartheid and white-minority government in South Africa. In 2020 she was named one of Time magazine’s 100 women of the century. 

South Africa is ranked 12th in the world for percentage of women in national parliament: 45.8% (source: 

Are you from South Africa? Please email if there is a social or cultural group for people from South Africa in Guernsey.

Want to learn more about public office vacancies in Guernsey? 

Sign up to our newsletter 

The original image “The Hague Jazz 2008 – Miriam Makeba” by Haags Uitburo is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0. 


Jacinda Ardern - New Zealand

Nominated by: Martin Lock

Jacinda Ardern (born 1980) has served as prime minister of New Zealand and leader of the Labour Party since 2017. In 2019, she led the country through the aftermath of the Christchurch mosque shootings, rapidly introducing strict gun laws in response, and throughout 2020 she directed the country’s widely praised response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Ardern was the world’s second elected head of government to give birth in office when her daughter was born in 2018. ‘An inspiring Prime Minister who brought a nation together with true leadership, empathy and compassion.’

New Zealand is ranked 4th in the world for percentage of women in national parliament: 48.3% (source: 

Other iconic women: Dame Whina Cooper, nominated by Claire Fisher, and Kate Sheppard, nominated by Anna Cooper.

Are you from New Zealand? You may be interested in joining the ANZACs in Guernsey Facebook group

Want to learn more about public office vacancies in Guernsey? 

Sign up to our newsletter