Skip to content

Update on parish elections


Storm Ciaran had a major impact on the parish elections. Election meetings were due to take place on the evening of Wednesday 1 November, just as the weather started to worsen ahead of the storm.

Most election meetings were postponed but some went ahead. Here’s the latest info for each parish:




Parish election meeting held on Wednesday 1 November. John Niles was elected as Junior Constable, replacing Bill Cohu.

The election for Douzenier was competitive – six candidates for four seats. By a show of seven hands, as required by law, parishioners decided to defer the election for two weeks until Wednesday 15 November so that there could be a full election at a polling station.

That deferred election has now taken place. Victoria Robinson, Richard Digard, Oliver Goddard and John Niles were elected. Use our Voter Information Hub for the Vale Parish Election to find out more about the candidates and the result.


Parish election meeting held. Becky Link was re-elected as Constable and Eleanor (Nell) Round and John Atkins were elected as Douzeniers. That leaves two vacancies so if you are interested in standing, contact the Constables.

St Saviour

Parish election meeting held. Paul Connolly was re-elected as Constable. Jeff Brache, Victor de Garis and Bob Murray were re-elected as Douzeniers and will be joined by Janette Riley who will complete the term of Sophie Roughsedge (to Dec 2024). All elections uncontested.

St Peter Port

Parish election meeting postponed to Wednesday 29 November. Revised parish notice.

St Sampson

Parish election meeting held on Wednesday 22 November. Adrian Dilcock elected as Constable (uncontested). Karl Guille, Jennifer Merrett and  Andrew Carre elected for four year terms. Joseph Abbotts elected for a two year term. Natalie Carpenter withdrew her nomination. Revised parish notice.

St Pierre du Bois

Parish election meeting held on Wednesday 22 November. Timothy Langmead re-elected and Carl Jensen elected as Constables (uncontested). Gloria Dudley-Owen re-elected and David Jeffery and Claire Jehan elected to four year terms. Michael de Laune elected to two year term (uncontested). Revised parish notice.

St Andrew

Parish election meeting held on Wednesday 22 November. Deborah Sauvarin and Chris Elliott re-elected and Joel Lanyon elected (uncontested). Revised parish notice.


Parish election meeting held on Wednesday 22 November. Nicholas Vining re-elected as Constable. Peter Sidebottom, Brian Aplin and Andrew Benstead elected as Douzeniers (uncontested). Revised parish notice.


Parish election meeting held on Wednesday 22 November. Wayne Bertrand elected as Constable. Susan Ephgrave and Jennifer Falla re-elected and Andrew Niles elected as Douzeniers (uncontested). Revised parish notice.

St Martin

Parish election meetings postponed to Wednesday 29 November (note: new date, was 22 November). Revised parish notice.


To learn more about the election process, read our Voters Guide to the Parish Elections.



Guernsey’s iconic women of the future?

Thank you for nominating a young woman or girl for our future iconic Guernsey women campaign to celebrate International Women’s Day!

Nominations close on Sunday 6 March at 17.00.

Please fill in the details below.


Miriam Makeba - South Africa

Nominated by: Christine James

Zenzile Miriam Makeba (1932 to 2008), nicknamed Mama Africa, was a South African singer, songwriter, actress, United Nations goodwill ambassador, and civil rights activist. Associated with musical genres including Afropop, jazz, and world music, she was an advocate against apartheid and white-minority government in South Africa. In 2020 she was named one of Time magazine’s 100 women of the century. 

South Africa is ranked 12th in the world for percentage of women in national parliament: 45.8% (source: 

Are you from South Africa? Please email if there is a social or cultural group for people from South Africa in Guernsey.

Want to learn more about public office vacancies in Guernsey? 

Sign up to our newsletter 

The original image “The Hague Jazz 2008 – Miriam Makeba” by Haags Uitburo is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0. 


Jacinda Ardern - New Zealand

Nominated by: Martin Lock

Jacinda Ardern (born 1980) has served as prime minister of New Zealand and leader of the Labour Party since 2017. In 2019, she led the country through the aftermath of the Christchurch mosque shootings, rapidly introducing strict gun laws in response, and throughout 2020 she directed the country’s widely praised response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Ardern was the world’s second elected head of government to give birth in office when her daughter was born in 2018. ‘An inspiring Prime Minister who brought a nation together with true leadership, empathy and compassion.’

New Zealand is ranked 4th in the world for percentage of women in national parliament: 48.3% (source: 

Other iconic women: Dame Whina Cooper, nominated by Claire Fisher, and Kate Sheppard, nominated by Anna Cooper.

Are you from New Zealand? You may be interested in joining the ANZACs in Guernsey Facebook group

Want to learn more about public office vacancies in Guernsey? 

Sign up to our newsletter